Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Hattie Dyer Elementary

Logo Title

Selection Criteria

The National Elementary Honor Society (NEHS) chapter of Hattie Dyer Elementary is a duly chartered and affiliated chapter of this prestigious national organization. Membership is open to those students who meet the required standards in two areas of initial evaluation: scholarship (academic achievement) and responsibility.

Students are selected to be members of NEHS by a faculty council and supervised by an additional member of the faculty serving as the chapter adviser. This group awards the honor of membership to qualified students on behalf of the faculty of the school during each school year.  Our NEHS chapter will conduct its selection procedures during the fall semester to eligible fourth and fifth grade students. 

For the scholarship criterion, a student must have a cumulative A (90%) average for the 2019 Spring semester. For the responsibility criterion, school faculty with knowledge of the student complete a student rating rubric. Those students who meet these criteria are invited to complete a candidate’s form that provides the faculty council with evidence of the candidate’s responsibility at home, at school, and in the community.

All information is then carefully reviewed by the faculty council to determine membership. A majority vote of the council is necessary for selection. Candidates are notified regarding selection or non-selection according to a predetermined schedule established by the chapter. Following notification, a formal induction ceremony is held at the school to recognize all newly selected members. Once inducted, new members are required to maintain the same level of performance (or better) in all of the criteria that led to their selection. This obligation includes regular attendance at chapter meetings, participation in chapter service projects/activities, and obtaining 6 service hours through other school sponsored events or the community.

Selection Timeline